Pizza Saturdays

up until my sister got her first job (at a place that sold guides equiptment, where she would work Saturday evenings) my sister and I would have pizza every Saturday. Simply as a low-maintenance meal that started when my mum would have friends over and wanted to feed us quickly and easily before shooing us upstairs. Sometimes she’d sit with us and we’d watch whatever was on tv as we ate (usually that comedy show with all the clips of people doing stupid stuff).

then when my sister got her job, pizza Saturdays stopped; more often than not my dad was away so my mother and I would eat microwave curry together. It wasn’t as fun.

Then I started going to Ruby’s house, and we’d eat takeaway pizza.

It just… when you lose something, and you get it back years later, but better? Yeah, that’s how it feels.

I wouldn’t want pizza Saturdays with anybody else.

Thanks, Ruby.

Leave a comment